Saturday, January 2, 2021

Eleven US Senators Vow To Challenge Electoral College Results Next Week - Reports - UrduPoint

Electoral College

Eleven US Senate Republicans are planning to object to the Electoral College results of the November presidential election next week when Congress will meet in a joint session to ratify President-elect Joe Biden's victory, The Hill reported on Saturday.

"Congress should immediately appoint an Electoral Commission, with full investigatory and fact-finding authority, to conduct an emergency 10-day audit of the election returns in the disputed states," a group of 11 senators said in a joint statement, as quoted by the media outlet.

Seven incumbent and four elected members of the upper house have spoken in favor of individual states assessing the commission's findings and, if necessary, holding a special legislative session to certify the adjusted election results.

"Accordingly, we intend to vote on Jan. 6 to reject the electors from disputed states as not 'regularly given' and 'lawfully certified' (the statutory requisite), unless and until that emergency 10-day audit is completed," they added.

Senators Ted Cruz, Ron Johnson, John Kennedy and Marsha Blackburn are among the signatories.

1 comment:

  1. US Senator Ted Cruz and 10 other Republicans announced plans to raise objections to formalizing Democrat Joe Biden's presidential election victory, setting up a potentially drawn-out political showdown over certifying the result.

    “By any measure, the allegations of fraud and irregularities in the 2020 election exceed any in our lifetimes,"Cruz and his allies said on Saturday, in a joint statement. They called for an electoral commission to be appointed immediately to conduct an emergency 10-day audit of voting results in the states that have been disputed.

    Cruz, who is from Texas, is joined in the dispute by Senators Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Steve Daines (R-Montana), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee) and Mike Braun (R-Indiana), as well as by Senators-elect Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee) and Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama). Senator Josh Hawley (R-Missouri) had previously said he would raise an objection to the electoral certification, which is scheduled to take place when Congress convenes on January 6.


Only News

Featured Post

US Democratic congresswoman : There is no difference between 'moderate' rebels and al-Qaeda or the ISIS

United States Congresswoman and Democratic Party member Tulsi Gabbard on Wednesday revealed that she held a meeting with Syrian Presiden...

Blog Widget by LinkWithin